Thick, soft, and fluffy chocolate chip cookies

Hubby begged me to make him chocolate chip cookies the other day. “Fine,” I said, secretly (or, perhaps, rather obviously) teeming inside from the request that made me spend time in the kitchen for something I couldn’t eat afterwards, “but you’ll have to pick up butter first.” He did, and I began mixing the dough. I only had half a bag of chocolate chips (so I halved the recipe), and right when I dumped them in, I took a look at the bag of Ghirardelli chocolate chips and my heart stopped: the chocolate chips were dairy free and I had wasted them adding them to a dough filled with dairy! I could’ve made the cookies with fake butter and been able to enjoy them! Grrrrrrr!

I marched to the store and picked up a new bag Ghirardelli and set out to dedairyfy my cookie recipe.

I love my cookies soft and fluffy, which I knew using Melt would get me as it stays softer and even melts (I guess it’s appropriately named) on the counter here in Hawaii, which means cookies made with it are very soft. However, I also knew that this recipe relies upon cold ingredients placed in a hot oven to stay lofty, as warm butter will melt too quickly in the oven and spread out too much, and the process of mixing the dough would soften it too much.

Normally I would just freeze the shaped dough for about 10 minutes before baking, so I decided to increase the freezing time to counteract the melting property of Melt. About an hour seems to be good, but it also works great to freeze the dough completely for baking at a later date, though the colder the dough is, the longer the baking time needs to be.

Ingredients

16 tbsp / 2 sticks / 230 g cold butter alternative (I used Melt)

1 1/2 C / 300 g brown sugar

4 tbsp white sugar

2 large eggs

5 tsp vanilla

3 1/2 C / 440 g all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 C semi sweet chocolate chips (Ghirardelli has a dairy free type)

Method

Cut the cold butter into small cubes; add the sugars and roughly mix. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix. Add flour, baking powder, and salt and mix. Mix in chocolate chips. Shape using either two spoons or a small cookie scoop and place on parchment paper.

Freeze 10 minutes if your butter alternative normally stays solid at room temperature or 1 hour if the butter alternative melts at room temperature (which Melt does). If desired, place some in a zip-loc bag and leave in the freezer for another day.

Preheat oven to to 350 degrees F / 180 degrees C. Bake 12-15 minutes if dough is just cold, 15-20 minutes if the dough is frozen, until firm and starting to turn golden around the edges.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

